How to put your private tiktok account or upload private videos

Who I am
Philippe Gloaguen
@philippegloaguen
Author and references

TikTok, the social network launched in 2016, is one of the platforms that caused a sensation in the community, especially among young people under 18. And no wonder, the app allows many functions similar to Instagram and Snapchat but with more freedom.

Its features include: viewing and sharing short videos, adding effects and filters, performing duets with your friends and family for free. Furthermore, its popularity is due to the fact that it is not necessary to create an account to start enjoying the platform.



Despite its advantages, there are those who prefer to use the application and keep control over their followers, or better yet, decide who can see and comment on the videos.

If you want to record videos freely without having to face the opinion of others, now is the time to make your TikTok account private. If, on the other hand, you want to share a video only with friends, we tell you that it is possible also upload private videos.

What are the benefits of making your TikTok account private?

If you are tired of dealing with the public and prefer to have a major control over your followers, setting your account as private is the best option. This way you will avoid harassment and give you the opportunity to reject and accept members.

Avoid toxic followers by entering your private account on TikTok pixabay

The only thing that will be visible will be your username, profile picture and description, so make sure you don't add too much information.

How to make a TikTok account private?

This is an acceptable way that you can apply and thus control who sees or can't see your social media content. For make your TikTok account private, follow the steps below:



  • Enter the application TikTok, from your mobile. If you don't have it yet, download it for free for Android and iOS.
  • Touch the icon area of person, located at the bottom right of the screen.
  • You will see your user profile. To touch in the three vertical points, located in the upper right part.

Log into TikTok and change your privacy options

  • Click on "Privacy and security".
  • In the visibility section you will see "Private account". You just have to move the button for activate the function.

Change the visibility of your TikTok account in private mode

Now all the people who decide to follow you have to wait for your approval to be able to see your videos and put a like.

How to hide your TikTok account?

If your account privacy options aren't enough, you can hide your account for added protection and thus they can't find you. This is what you should do:

  • Enter the application TikTok, from your mobile.
  • Touch the icon area of person, located at the bottom right of the screen.
  • You will see your user profile. To touch in the three vertical points, located in the upper right part.


With this option enabled you will not appear in TikTok Highlights

  • Click on "Privacy and security".
  • In the visibility section you will see "Recommend your account to others". You just have to move the button for deactivate the function.


Disable the "recommend your content to others" function on the social network

With these steps, tell all’algoritmo TikTok says do not recommend your content, much less distinguish it. These changes are possible as long as your account is personal and not a PRO account.

How to view a private TikTok account?

To view a private account, you have to search for the username and send a friend request. Now you just have to wait and see if the other person approves you so you can follow him and see his content.


Is it possible to spy on a private account on TikTok? pixabay

If it's someone you know, but the person still doesn't give you permission to follow them, you can try sending a text message by any other means so they can add you to their friends.

If, on the other hand, the user you are looking for previously had a public account and now it's switched to private mode, it is very likely that you will find some of its old content on social networks or in the Google search engine.

How to put your TikTok videos privately or just for friends?

  • Enter the application TikTok, from your mobile.
  • Tap the (+) icon, located at the bottom center of the screen.
  • Record a video and add effects, filters and click "Forward".

Publish your videos and set them up so that only your friends can see them privately


  • The window for video data will open: description, hashtag, friend tag, privacy options and more.
  • Toccata "Who can see this video".
  • Several options will appear: "Public", "Friends", "Private".
  • Select "Private" o "Friends", as appropriate and that's it.

Change options before publishing

How to make published videos private?

If you posted the video and forgot to set the option to view in private mode, follow these steps:

  • Open the video already published.
  • To touch on three horizontal points, located on the right side of the video screen.
  • A window with multiple lines will open. Swipe over the last few options and tap the icon of padlock di "Privacy settings".

If you posted private content by mistake, easily change your settings

  • Click on "Who can see this video".
  • Select "Private" And that's it.

Switch from "public" to "private" in the video privacy settings

You may also like it | How to use TikTok without creating an account

As you will see, the procedure for make your TikTok account private or upload private videos it's very simple, you just have to make some adjustments in the privacy options and enjoy the app without having to deal with intruders.

add a comment of How to put your private tiktok account or upload private videos
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.